About Us   |   Join UVCE Alumni Data Base  |     |  


The UVCE Foundation, under the Foundation’s Scholarship Program, distributed need-based scholarships to 33 students across all branches of BE at UVCE for the 2012–13 academic year. The scholarships were largely possible due to the generosity of our well-wishers, donors and sponsors.

The Program provides annual scholarships to selected full time engineering undergraduate students at UVCE. Scholars receive up to full tuition fee support for their course with provision for performance-and- need based extension to four years. Scholarships are awarded through a process of due diligence by the scholarships committee, followed by interviews of potential scholars by a high-level committee that recommends the quantum of scholarship to the recipient.

The program, made possible by donations to the UVCE Foundation Scholarship Fund by alumni and well- wishers, has awarded scholarships of Rs. 3, 57,000 in its inception year. To each and every one who has helped raise funds for the Program, the Foundation sincerely thanks you for your efforts, contribution and unrelenting support.

The scholarship program has set itself a lofty goal of providing scholarships to 120-150 students within the next four years. We take this opportunity to appeal to our alumni and friends for their valuable support in establishing an endowment for this cause.


UVCE Foundation, UVCE Foundation received over 200 applications from the currents students of UVCE for the scholarship. After a detailed analysis of the applications and interaction with the candidates by the scholarship team, 32 students were shortlisted for personal evaluation by the Scholarships Review Committee.

A seven member high level Committee headed by Mr. B V Jagadeesh, (’78 batch alumnus) highly regarded US-India entrepreneur and Chairman, UVCE Foundation US, interacted with each candidate at an interview session held at the UVCE Alumni Association Hall, K R Circle, Bangalore on December 8, 2012. Careful consideration of the financial need, personal conditions and the academic merit of the candidate was part of the due diligence for the awarding of the scholarship. Based on due diligence, the committee recommended scholarships of full, half or one-third tuition fee assistance to 33 applicants, for the academic year 2012-13. The scholarships were evenly distributed across all departments under UVCE.


Over 150 UVCE alumni and guests convened at the Jnana Jyothi Auditorium, Bangalore on February 25, 2013 to celebrate this years UVCE Foundation Scholarships. The celebration was jointly hosted by the Rotary Club, Bangalore South and the UVCE Foundation. The Bangalore University Vice Chancellor, Dr. Thimme Gowda graced the occasion as Chief Guest with Dr. V K Aatre, eminent scientist and former Scientific Advisor to the Ministry of Defense, our Guest of Honour.

In his keynote address on the occasion, Mr. B V Jagadeesh stressed on the importance of UVCE’s alumni to be more involved in the activities of the revered institution and to contribute through ideas, support and encouragement in making the current day students as successful as UVCE’s alumni.

The evening witnessed the awarded scholars, narrating their personal journeys through economic hardships during formative years, overcoming great odds in life to achieve academic success. The scholars’ expression of gratitude on the award and their view on their future, hopes and aspirations was moving and displayed maturity beyond their years. Supporting the cause of such scholars is in itself acknowledgement of the effort of the innumerable contributors from the alumni and the UVCE Foundation.

The occasion was an opportunity for the alumni to come together to felicitate fellow alum Dr. Roddam Narasimha on being awarded the Padma Vibhushan , the second highest Civilian honor bestowed by the Government of India for exemplary contribution to the country. The event provided an opportunity for guests to fraternize with each other and for the donors, alumni and recipients to exchange ideas to further shape the future.